Foundation purpose

The foundation’s purpose is the advancement and preservation of art and culture in the State of Hesse. Specifically, its duty is to support museums, libraries and archives through the purchase, protection and preservation of especially valuable cultural assets, art objects and collections of outstanding importance. It is moreover in a position to promote important projects for the documentation and presentation of art and history to the extent that they are of special interest, and carry out programmes in support of young artists (Art. 2 of the foundation charter).

Areas of assistance

The Hessische Kulturstiftung’s funding activities are directed exclusively towards museums and comparable non-commercial institutions of the fine arts, e.g. art societies, libraries and archives. Assistance is provided for the following activities:


Board of Trustees


Minister President Volker Bouffier, Gießen


Minister of State Boris Rhein, Frankfurt am Main

Further members

Minister of State Dr. Thomas Schäfer, Marburg-Biedenkopf
Prof. Dr. Marcel Baumgartner, Gießen
Prof. Dr. Andreas Dombret, Bad Homburg
Jutta Ebeling, Frankfurt am Main
Dr. Susanne Gaensheimer, Frankfurt am Main
Herbert Hans Grüntker, Karben
Stefan Quandt, Bad Homburg
Dr. Bernhard Maaz, München
Prof. Norbert Radermacher, Berlin
Dr. Friedrich Freiherr Waitz von Eschen, Fuldatal-Rothwesten

Board of directors


Dr. Rolf-E. Breuer, Frankfurt am Main


Staatssekretär Ingmar Jung, Erbach / Rhg.


Eva Claudia Scholtz, Frankfurt am Main

Executive director

BvDS_Mitglied-Logo 045_ra_logo_neg_red